Eight Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Are Now UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Eight Frank Lloyd Wright Buildings Are Now UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Acclaimed American architect Frank Lloyd Wright has had eight of his designs named as World Heritage Sites by UNESCO. Announced during the UNESCO’s annual conference in Baku, Azerbaijan, the eight buildings include Fallingwater in Pennsylvania, the Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, the Jacobs House in Wisconsin, the Robie House in Chicago, Taliesin in Wisconsin, Taliesin West in Arizona and the Unity Temple in Illinois.

Joining a list of over 1,000 other sites, including Machu Picchu and the Pyramids of Giza, the addition of Wright’s buildings to the list is the first time a modern American artist has made the cut since the World Heritage program began in 1972.

“These buildings reflect the ‘organic architecture’ developed by Wright, which includes an open plan, a blurring of the boundaries between exterior and interior and the unprecedented use of materials such as steel and concrete,” UNESCO said in a press release announcing the news.

“Each of these buildings offers innovative solutions to the needs for housing, worship, work or leisure. Wright’s work from this period had a strong impact on the development of modern architecture in Europe.” 

For more information on Frank Lloyd Wright and his architectural feats, visit franklloydwright.org.

RELATED: 1960s vibes from this ‘on the rocks’ Californian coastal house