Every NBA Finals Match From The 90s Is Now Available To Watch For Free
(Photo by Fernando Medina/NBAE/Getty Images)
— Updated on 12 May 2023

Every NBA Finals Match From The 90s Is Now Available To Watch For Free

— Updated on 12 May 2023

It was the decade, the team, and the player that came to define basketball forever. 25 years after Michael Jordan took his final shot as a Chicago Bull, we’re still talking about his indelible influence on sport and culture. And for the first time ever, you can revisit the telecasts of every NBA Finals from the 1990s, preserved in their original CRT glory, free of charge.

Previously, the NBA App and website hosted an archive of every NBA Finals game dating back to the year 2000. Now, they’ve added all 56 NBA Finals games from the 1990s with your NBA ID.

In case you need a refresher, the 90s saw the following teams become NBA Champions:

  • 1990 – Detroit Pistons (4-1) Portland Trail Blazers
  • 1991 – Chicago Bulls (4-1) Los Angeles Lakers
  • 1992 – Chicago Bulls (4-2) Portland Trail Blazers
  • 1993 – Chicago Bulls (4-2) Phoenix Suns
  • 1994 – Houston Rockets (4-3) New York Knicks
  • 1995 – Houston Rockets (4-0) Orlando Magic
  • 1996 – Chicago Bulls (4-2) Seattle SuperSonics
  • 1997 – Chicago Bulls (4-2) Utah Jazz
  • 1998 – Chicago Bulls (4-2) Utah Jazz
  • 1999 – San Antonio Spurs (4-1) New York Knicks

RELATED: ‘The Last Dance’ Follow-Up Documentary About Michael Jordan Reportedly In The Works

The decade begins with the conclusion of the “Bad Boy” Pistons run (winning their second consecutive title) and ends with the dawn of Tim Duncan’s dynastic San Antonio Spurs. Hakeem’s Rockets took the pair in the middle with a three-peat from the Chicago Bulls on either side. The symmetry, like the basketball being played, was damn near perfect.

It’s never been easier to watch the basketball triumphs of legends such as Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, Shaquille O’Neal, Anfernee “Penny” Hardaway, Magic Johnson, Clyde Drexler, Hakeem Olajuwon, Patrick Ewing, Gary Payton, Shawn Kemp, Charles Barkley, Tim Duncan, David Robinson, Karl Malone, and John Stockton.

If you’re wondering which games to check out, here are some of BH’s top picks…

RELATED: ‘The Last Dance’ Producers Are Filming LeBron James & The Lakers Right Now

Game 1: Chicago 122, Portland 89 (1992)

Michael Jordan hits six three-pointers in the first half, turns to Magic Johnson (who was doing the commentary for NBC), and gives “The Shrug.”

Game 3: Phoenix 129, Chicago 121 (1993)

Down 2-0 in the series, the Suns overcome 44 points from Michael Jordan to grind out a triple-overtime win against the defending two-time champs.

Game 6: Chicago 99, Phoenix 98 (1993)

The Bulls are down 2 points with 3.9 seconds remaining. John Paxson hits the three. The Bulls win their third straight NBA Championship.

Game 5: Chicago 90, Utah 88 (1997)

The Flu Game.

Game 6: Chicago 90, Utah 86 (1997)

Steve Kerr knocks down the 17-footer with 5 seconds on the clock. Chicago wins its fifth.

Game 6: Chicago 87, Utah 86 (1998)

The Last Dance. The Chicago Bulls win their sixth title in eight years. Our lasting image of Michael Jordan on the hardwood is the steal on Karl Malone, followed by the jumper from just above the free-throw line to take the series.

Many have since claimed that Jordan’s iconic crossover should’ve been called as an offensive foul. Did MJ push off Bryon Russell? It’s literally never been easier to see for yourself.

Hit the link below and watch every game from this storied era.

Subscribe to B.H. Magazine


Share the article