The Lifetime Qantas Platinum Status Requirement Is Absolutely Insane

The Lifetime Qantas Platinum Status Requirement Is Absolutely Insane

Qantas has this morning announced the biggest overhaul of its Frequent Flyer program in its 32-year history.

Amongst the changes, Australia’s flagship carrier has confirmed that ‘Lifetime Platinum’ will come into effect from August this year.

This is one for the seriously heavy hitters of the frequent flyer game. And by serious, we mean 75,000 Lifetime Status Credits will be needed to enjoy the benefits of Platinum till the day you die, regardless of how often you fly from thereon in. To put this in context, retaining Platinum each year requires 1,200 status credits – which means you’d need to retain Platinum for 63 years, or Platinum One (3,600 SC’s per annum) for 21 consecutive years. Good luck.

RELATED: How to join the Qantas Frequent Flyer program for free

The perks more or less mirror those of yearly Platinum status holders, and include the below:

  • Access to Qantas International First Lounges and Domestic Business Lounges
  • 100 per cent more Qantas Points on flights
  • Priority Classic Upgrade Rewards
  • Priority check-in on both Domestic and International routes
  • Generous extra checked baggage allowances
  • oneworld Emerald status for life

Qantas’ website states that “as the only Australian airline loyalty program that rewards members with this level of recognition, Lifetime Platinum will complement our existing Lifetime Silver and Lifetime Gold membership, which rewards members who have earned over 7,000 and 14,000 Lifetime Status Credits respectively.”

Good luck.

RELATED: The American Express Platinum Card Is Now Made Of Actual Metal