British Open Prize Money: What Players Earned At The 2022 Event
— 18 July 2022

British Open Prize Money: What Players Earned At The 2022 Event

— 18 July 2022
Garry Lu
Garry Lu

Australia’s Cameron Smith has claimed his maiden major victory at the 2022 British Open, hoisting the coveted Claret Jug and pocketing another casual US$2.5 million / AU$3.7 million worth of prize money in the process — but what did every other player earn?

This year, The Open – which was hosted on the hallowed grounds of St Andrews – distributed both its largest purse and the largest winner’s share in tournament history. All up, the total comes to a staggering US$14 million / AU$20.6 million.

“There have been significant changes in prize money over the last year,” said Martin Slumbers, CEO of the R&A (via Reuters).

RELATED: Cam Smith Drops The Most Aussie Response Of All Time After Winning 2022 British Open

“We have therefore increased the prize fund by 22%, which means that the prize money has increased by more than 60% since 2016.”

Despite the bump, The Open still only represents the fifth-highest payday of the season behind the three other majors — the US Open, the Masters, and the PGA Championship — and the Players Championship. It ranks even further down the list when the Saudi-backed rebel league LIV Golf is accounted for (but let’s not go there).

While the difference between Cameron Smith and Cameron Young was just a single stroke by when the event’s 150th iteration concluded, the disparity in dollars was far more significant. US$1,005,000 / AU$1,477,455 to be precise. In third place, crowd favourite Rory McIlroy will see even less with a sub-million lump sum (USD).

In any case, it’s a helluva lot more than Jamie Rutherford at 83rd – who’ll only receive US$30,950 / AU$45,00 – and certainly more than your average punter working a nine-to-five.

Check out the 2022 British Open prize money below.

British Open Prize Money – St Andrews (2022)

NOTE: All $$$ = USD

1. Cameron Smith [Winner]: $2,500,000 (-20)

2. Cameron Young: $1,455,000 (19)

3. Rory McIlroy: $933,000 (-18)

T-4. Tommy Fleetwood, Viktor Hovland: Ordinarily $725,000 | $654,000 each (-14)

T6. Brian Harman, Dustin Johnson: Ordinarily $505,000 | $469,500 each (-13)

T-8. Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Jordan Spieth: Ordinarily $366,000 | $325,666 each (-12)

T-11. Sadom Kaewanijana, Abraham Ancer, Tyrrell Hatton, Dean Burmester: Ordinarily $264,000 | $231,000 each (-11)

T-15. Lucas Herbert, Xander Schauffele, Anthony Quayle, Francesco Molinari, Adam Scott, Si Woo Kim: Ordinarily $191,500 | $165,583 each (-10)

T-21. Billy Horschel, Min Woo Lee, Trey Mullinax, Shane Lowry, Kevin Kisner, Matt Fitzpatrick, Scottie Scheffler: Ordinarily $139,000 | $120,286 each (-9)

T-28. Tony Finau, Corey Conners, Harold Varner III, Will Zalatoris, Dylan Frittelli, Thomas Pieters: Ordinarily $101,500 | $90,917 each (-8)

T-34. Thomas Detry, Robert MacIntyre, Talor Gooch, Lee Westwood, Sahith Theegala, Jon Rahm, Victor Perez, Aaron Wise: Ordinarily $79,250 | $68,906 each (-7)

T-42. Sam Burns, Jason Kokrak, Thriston Lawrence, Adrian Meronk, Chris Kirk: Ordinarily $56,500 | $51,000 each (-6)

T-47. Patrick Reed, Garrick Higgo, Jordan Smith, Yuto Katsuragawa, Joo-Hyung Kim, Filippo Celli: Ordinarily $43,700 | $40,100 each (-5) 

T-53. Joaquin Niemann, Danny Willett, Robert Dinwiddie, Lars Van Meijel, Justin Thomas, Paul Casey, Jason Scrivener, Brad Kennedy, Nicolai Hojgaard: Ordinarily $37,000 | $35,256 each (-4)

T-62. Cameron Tringagle, Sebastian Munoz, John Parry, David Carey, Ian Poulter, Russell Henley: Ordinarily $33,900 | $33,442 each (-3)

T-68. Sergio Garcia, Hideki Matsuyama, Christian Bezuidenhout, Richard Mansell: Ordinarily $32,600 | $32,318 each (-2)

T-72. David Law, Kurt Kitayama: Ordinarily $31,950 | $31,888 each (-1)

T-74. Marcus Armitage, Justin De Los Santos: Ordinarily $31,700 | $31,638 each (E)

T-76. Wyndham Clark, Adri Arnaus, Aaron Jarvis (a): Ordinarily $31,450 | $31,325 each (+1)

T-79. Barclay Brown (a), Laurie Canter: Ordinarily $31,075 | $31,013 each (+2)

T-81. Sam Bairstow (a), Sungjae Im: $30,950 each (+4)

83. Jamie Rutherford: $30,950 (+4)

Prize money decreased by $125 per qualifying place above 70 to a minimum of $30,950.

Cameron Smith becomes just the fifth Australian to ever win the British Open, joining Peter Thompson (1954, 1955, 1956, 1958, 1965), Kel Nagle (1960), Ian Baker-Finch (1991), as well as Greg Norman (1993) — and the first to win in 29 years since The Shark.

Subscribe to B.H. Magazine

Garry Lu
After stretching his legs with companies such as The Motley Fool and the odd marketing agency, Garry joined Boss Hunting in 2019 as a fully-fledged Content Specialist. In 2021, he was promoted to News Editor. Garry proudly retains a blue belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, black bruises from Muay Thai, as well as a black belt in all things pop culture. Drop him a line at [email protected]


Share the article